Can pancake batter go bad?

Yes. Left out, or even in the fridge, it will lose all it's leavening and the pancakes will be flat and tough. It won't poison you, but it won't make fluffy pancakes. If you leave it out at room temperature you'll have to toss it out after only about 6 hours because it contains raw eggs.