What is icing mean in hockey?

Icing is an infraction in the sport of ice hockey. It occurs when a player shoots the puck from behind the centre red line, across the opposing team's goal line, and the puck remains untouched. However, it is not icing if the puck is shot from behind the halfway line completely into the goal.