What does statistic mean?

A statistic is a fact or piece of data from a study of a large quantity of numerical data. Calculations from this are also a statistic, e.g. an average, percentiles, etc.. It can also mean, an event or person regarded as no more than a piece of data, to suggest an inappropriately impersonal approach