Do all dogs swim?

Most dogs enjoy swimming, but some breeds are better swimmers than others. Dogs that were bred for water work, such as retrievers and poodles, tend to be better swimmers than other breeds.

---

While many dogs do have a knack for treading water, not all dogs are naturally gifted swimmers. And for pups with flat faces or short legs, such as bulldogs, swimming can be a tremendous physical challenge.