Is t. r. o. d. e. a word?

Technically, yes, "trode," spelled T-R-O-D-E, is a real word in English. It's an archaic version of the modern word "trod," spelled T-R-O-D, the past tense of "tread."

---

"Trode" is an old-fashioned word. It means 1. to walk or trample in, on, over, or across (something) 2. ( when followed by the word "on") to crush or squash by or as if by treading.