What was the twenty twenty one united states capital attack?

The 2021 capitol riot was an attempt by supporters of then-president Donald Trump to prevent the certification of the election of Joe Biden. The US capitol was broken into, police officers were beaten and property was damaged, defaced and stolen, with threats made against multiple politicians.