What part of the pig is a ham?

The upper rear leg

---

"Ham is the raw rear leg (rump to shank) of a hog, which is preserved by smoking dry-curing or wet-curing...with emphasis on cultural specialties... Ham curing can be 8 months to 2 years. A non-cured ham is fresh ham." Info from TheSpruceEats.com.