Why are the ravens called the ravens?

The Ravens, Baltimore's NFL team, is called the Ravens because that was the top name choice of Maryland residents in focus groups as well as a public opinion poll. In February 1996 the franchise moved from Cleveland 2 Baltimore & needed a new name. It is named after Edgar Allan Poe's poem The Raven