What does the name talmage mean?

English: variant spelling of Talmadge. Americanized form of one or more like-sounding Jewish surnames, most likely from eastern Ashkenazic Tolmach, either an occupational name from Russian tolmach ‘interpreter’ or a habitational name from a village called Tolmach in Ukraine.