Who proposed the theory of continental drift?

The theory was first proposed in 1912 by Alfred Wegener, a geophysicist and meteorologist. Continental drift explains how continents shift position on Earth's surface, and may explain why similar animal and plant fossils, and similar rock formations are found on different continents.