What does it mean if lettuce is red?

If your lettuce appears red around the roots, that would mean that you have rusty lettuce. It is when there is excess moisture throughout the storing process.

---

Red lettuce is a type of lettuce that has reddish leaves. It is just a different type of lettuce that is often used with other lettuce to dress up a salad.