What is the life cycle of head lice?

The life cycle of the head louse has three stages: egg, nymph, and adult. Eggs hatch within 6 to 9 days. Nymphs become adults about 7 days after hatching. Adult lice can live up to 30 days when on a person’s head. Without a host on which to feed, the louse typically die within 1 to 2 days.