Does vanilla flavoring come from beavers?

When it comes to imitation vanilla, there's a lot of talk about beaver anal glands. Beaver castoreum (the goo-like vanilla-scented secretion that comes from beavers' castor sacs, located in close proximity to their anal glands) has been used as a food additive for much of the last century.