When do hummingbirds go to mexico?

That's a journey of nearly 4,000 miles -- a huge undertaking for such a tiny bird! The trip south usually begins in July, and most Rufous Hummingbirds will follow a slightly different route. Instead of gliding along the coast, they usually follow the Rocky Mountains back to Mexico.