How do i cut up a leak?

To cut up a leek: Trim off the roots and the coarse dark green part of the tops. Cut the leeks in half lengthways. Wash under a running tap, fanning the layers and rinsing away any grit or soil trapped between them. Drain thoroughly and slice as required.