What is the first recorded song?

Édouard-Léon Scott de Martinville recorded a segment of the song “Au Clair de la Lune" on his phonautograph in 1860. But it was an experiment to visually record sounds, not for play back. Nearly 20 years later in 1878, Edison recorded and played "Mary Had A Little Lamb" on his early phonograph.

---

A recording by Frenchman Edouard-Leon Scott de Martinville of a woman singing 'Au... Clair De La Lune' was discovered in an archive in Paris by a group of American audio historians. The recording dates back to April 9, 1860 making it the world's first known recorded song.