Are whip spiders really spiders?

Whip Spiders aren't true spiders. Whip spiders belong to the order Amblypygi, whereas true spiders belong to the order Araneae. Whip spiders have more in common with whip scorpions and schizomids than their namesake, as they share features such as an antennae-like first set of legs.