What is christopher columbus day?

Columbus Day became a holiday nationwide in 1937. The holiday commemorates Columbus's arrival in the Americas on October 12, 1492. Since the 1971 passage of the Uniform Monday Holiday Act it has been celebrated on the second Monday in October.