What is ramsey hunt syndrome?

Ramsay Hunt syndrome occurs when the varicella-zoster virus infects a nerve in the head. In addition to the painful shingles rash, Ramsay Hunt syndrome can cause facial paralysis and hearing loss in the affected ear