How does hockey overtime work?

In the regular NHL season, an overtime period lasts for 5 minutes and is played where matches are tied, it is “sudden death” where 1st score wins. Overtime draws are decided by a penalty shoot-out. In the Stanley Cup, teams tied matches play 20 minute overtime periods, with 5 skaters each.