What is drawing in quartering?

Drawing and quartering was English penalty in 1284 for the crime of treason. A traitor was drawn, that is, tied to a horse and dragged to the gallows. Then hanging (usually not to the death), and quartering by tying four limbs to 4 different horses and spurring them in different directions.