What year was the first flight of an airplane?

The first flight of an airplane occurred in 1903 and was completed by Wilbur and Orville Wright. While other scientists worked with an unlimited budget & materials to accomplish this goal, it was the "poor" Wright brothers who were victorious. This was thought to be due to their passion of flying.