What's a simulated mean?

Simulated is not real, but made to look genuine. Products are often designed to look real, like simulated pearls, that look like real pearls. Emotions can be simulated like when an actor pretends to be sad. In training, things are often simulated like teaching a pilot to fly in a pretend cockpit.