What is the difference between a simple sentence and a compound sentence?

A simple sentence includes a single independent clause which contains a subject and a predicate. A compound sentence includes multiple independent clauses which contain multiple subjects and multiple predicates.

---

A simple sentence contains a single idea and a compound sentence has more than one. Such as, "The dog ran outside." Compared to,"The dog ran outside and found a spot to bury his new toy."