What was the biggest hurricane to hit the united states?

Known as the deadliest hurricane in the country's history, the Great Galveston Hurricane hit Galveston Island, on Texas' eastern coast, in 1900. The hurricane missed Florida and swirled over the Gulf of Mexico with winds at more than 120 miles per hour.