Why is lactose free milk sweeter?

Lactase, the enzyme added to lactose-free milk, breaks lactose down into two simple sugars: glucose and galactose . Because your taste buds perceive these simple sugars as sweeter than complex sugars, the final lactose-free product has a sweeter flavor than regular milk