Why is it cupcake called a cupcake?

The earliest extant description of what is now often called a cupcake was in 1796, when a recipe for "a light cake to bake in small cups" was written in American Cookery by Amelia Simmons. In the early 19th century, there were two different uses for the term cup cake or cupcake.