What does a recovery compass do?

The recovery compass item in Minecraft aids in locating the location where you last perished. Finding the objects you drop after dying can be immensely helpful when using the recovery compass. Combine a compass with nine echo shards to make a recovery compass.

---

The Minecraft recovery compass points you towards the location of where you last died, making it much easier to recover your items.