Does baking soda make things rise?

Baking soda is pure sodium bicarbonate. When baking soda is combined with moisture and an acidic ingredient—such as yogurt, chocolate, buttermilk, or honey—the resulting chemical reaction produces bubbles of carbon dioxide that expand under oven temperatures, causing baked goods to expand or rise.