What was the first picture ever taken?

As in the depiction of an object, person or scene, the oldest 'picture' would be cave drawings from over 40,000 years old. The world’s earliest surviving 'photograph' was a shot taken from an upstairs window at Joseph Nicéphore Niépce's estate in Burgundy, in 1826 or 1827.