Can dogs use human shampoo?

Baby shampoo is the only safe alternative where human shampoo is concerned. Most human shampoos are too acidic to use on dogs and will damage their skin if used regularly over time.

---

Because dog and human skin has different needs, it can be harmful to use human shampoo on dogs by disrupting the acid mantle, leaving your pup vulnerable to parasites, viruses, and bacteria; as well as leaving their skin dry and flaky. However, in an emergency natural, gentle baby shampoo is safe.