Can dogs use human shampoo?

Because dog and human skin has different needs, it can be harmful to use human shampoo on dogs by disrupting the acid mantle, leaving your pup vulnerable to parasites, viruses, and bacteria; as well as leaving their skin dry and flaky. However, in an emergency natural, gentle baby shampoo is safe.