What does tie fighter stand for?

twin ion engines Wherever the Empire or First Order spread their nefarious reaches across the galaxy, you can be sure of one thing: TIE Fighters, lots and lots of TIE Fighters. The name, of course, is an acronym for "twin ion engines."