Who made the first fortune cookie?

Makoto Hagiwara, a landscape designer who ran the Japanese Tea Garden at Golden Gate Park in San Francisco, put little notes in Japanese rice crackers, & served them at the Tea Garden in 1914. The confectionary shop, Benkyodo, was later commissioned to create fortune cookies to meet demand.