What measuring system does the united states use?

The US uses the United States customary system, or US customary units. Often in hardware stores, it is referred to as Standard, as compared to Metric.

---

The United States uses the Imperial measuring system rather than the metric system that is used by much of the rest of the world. Examples of Imperial measurements include yards, feet, inches, acres, pounds, quarts, and gallons.