What's the pan a midnight dreary?

While I pondered, weak and weary, over many a quaint and curious tomes of forgotten lore While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping, as of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door "’Tis some visitor,” I muttered, “tapping at my chamber door, Only this and nothing more.”