What do nutrients eat?

The definition of "nutrients" is "a material that provides nourishment necessary for growth and the maintenance of life." Nutrients don't eat but they are eaten. If the question is for the nutria rat it eats crops and grasses near its marsh habitat, roots, tubers and young shoots of marsh plants.