What is a wang doodle?

A wang doodle is actually spelled as one word- W h a n g d o o d l e, and is a make-believe animal from books written by Roald Dahl. The name originated in "The Harp of a Thousand Strings" by William P. Brannan in 1856 . It is also used as slang for small gadgets that seem to have no obvious use.