What day did martin luther king?

Martin Luther King Jr. Day is a federal holiday in the United States marking the birthday of Martin Luther King Jr. It is observed on the third Monday of January each year. Born in 1929, King's actual birthday is January 15th. Martin Luther King was assassinated on the evening of April 4, 1968, .