How do you do a french press?

Pour hot water, not quite boiling, into the pot, and gently stir. Carefully reinsert the plunger into the pot, stopping just above the water and ground coffee (do not plunge yet), and let stand for 3-4 minutes. Press the plunger down slowly, exerting steady pressure.