Are maine coon cats rare?

No The Maine Coon is a large domesticated cat breed. It is one of the oldest natural breeds in North America. The breed originated in the U.S. state of Maine, where it is the official state cat.

---

The Maine Coon breed was rare in the 1950s when they went out of style and almost went extinct. However, after the breed became the official state cat of Maine, its popularity soared, and it made a comeback in 1985. Today, Maine Coons are so popular that they are no longer considered rare.