When was the first marvel comic created?

Per Marvel.com, Marvel Comics #1 was published on Aug. 31, 1939, and dated October, 1939, on the cover. Among others, it introduced Human Torch and Sub-Mariner. The publishing company was then called Timely Comics. Renamed Atlas Comics around 1951, it was renamed Marvel Comics in the early 1960s.