How loud is a bell?

The Bel and the more common decibel, 1/10th of a bel, are a measure of relative loudness on a logarithmic scale. Normal conversation is about 60 decibels. Faint leaf rustling or quiet breathing is at about 10 decibels, or 1 bel.