What is french toast in america?

French toast is a breakfast dish. Sliced bread is dipped in a mixture of eggs, cinnamon, a dash of vanilla flavoring and a splash of milk. It is then placed on a griddle pan with melted butter. Once each slice is slightly browned, it is ready to serve with either maple syrup or topping of choice.

---

French toast in America is usually sliced bread dipped in egg batter and fried in a skillet.