What is the nineteen oh six san francisco earthquake?

The 1906 San Francisco earthquake had a magnitude estimated at 7.9. It struck the coast of Northern California at 5:12 a.m. on Wednesday, April 18. The quake and subsequent fires destroyed 80% of San Francisco and resulted in around 3000 deaths.