How are calories calculated?

Calories are calculated in many ways. One is a bomb calorimeter. Food is sealed inside with water and heated until the food is completely burned off. The rise in temperature of the water determines the calories. One calorie is the energy to raise the temperature of 1 kg of water one degree Celsius.