What is the t. i. a.?

A transient ischemic attack (TIA) is a temporary period of symptoms similar to those of a stroke. A TIA usually lasts only a few minutes and doesn't cause permanent damage. Often called a mini stroke, a transient ischemic attack may be a warning.