How did sonic get so fast?

Sonic was already pretty fast for a hedgehog, when he first encountered Dr Robotnik. Robotnik provided him with "power sneakers" and allowed him to train on his "kinetic gyratoscope", resulting in Sonic being able to run at super-sonic speed.