How does a freshwater snail kill you?

Freshwater snails carry parasitic worms that cause bilharzia, commonly known as schistosomiasis. However, this worm isn't found in the United States. After entering a human's body, these worms will end up in blood vessels – thus, blocking tissues and causing anemia, resulting in death.