When did fm radio come out?

The FM radio we use was invented by Edwin Armstrong in the 1930s while he was working with RCA. World war two interrupted the development of new radios for the public. After the war, FM moved to its current frequencies, but FM radio in automobiles did not start until the 1960s

---

After world war 2, but it did not surpass AM radio until the mid 1970s