What is a british raincoat?

Mackintosh. ... The Mackintosh or raincoat (abbreviated as mac) is a form of waterproof raincoat, first sold in 1824, made out of rubberised fabric. The Mackintosh is named after its Scottish inventor Charles Macintosh, although many writers added a letter k.